Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: Lanlord Entered Without My Permission

Posted by BB on February 23, 2002 at 12:23:26:

In Reply to: Lanlord Entered Without My Permission posted by Crystal on February 18, 2002 at 02:26:10:

I'm not a lawyer, and I don't know Iowa laws...But I would file a complaint with your local Police Dept. I am not sure exactly what the crime is, maybe "unlawful entry"?, "invasion of privacy"? Anyways, the police Dept. should be able to help you...It is important to have the complaint filed, because if he does it again (call 911 on the spot!), you may be able to get a restraining order.
After filing the complaint, I would also send him a letter (via cert. of mailing) letting him know that his actions were unlawful and violated your human and tenant rights. Quote whatever laws you can. Let him know that he is NOT authorized to enter your apartment without 24hrs WRITTEN notice (as prescribed by law). Let him know that you would be happy to comply with reasonable requests (such as turning down your music), but the manner to go about is to simply knock on your door or leave you a vmail, etc...Be factual, to the point and do not sound antagonistic. Start the letter with the phrase " I am writing the following in an effort to maintain that I am a good and responsible tenant."
As for suing him, I'm not sure what your grounds would be. Did you experience damages that can be documented? Did the unplugging of the power bars cause your computer to malfunction or your speakers to blow? Did you have to get it repaired? Basically you need receipts to document loss. If you have any of those, then include the breakdown in your letter and inform that you will be deducting it from the rent. Of course he won't be happy with that and may sue you for non payment. At that point you can use the complaint and receipts as a part of your counterclaim.