TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Month to Month Lease and Landlord Wants to Evict...Need help

Moderator: TenantNet

Month to Month Lease and Landlord Wants to Evict...Need help

Postby meg777 » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:24 pm

Hi,
I have a two-part question.

I am currently renting a two-bedroom home in Sag Harbor, NY. I have been renting for nine years now. We had an original one year lease, and after the first year we went on a month-to-month basis. My landlord has been really good about the rent (I pay much less than other people in the area), but I have just gotten a letter from him saying that I have six weeks to vacate the house. He did not give a reason. Do I have move? I understand that I can holdover but is it beneficial to me to do so?

Also, he recently sent me a letter saying that the repairs I had undertaken to the house in the past nine years were at my expense. He did not approve these repairs, but I thought I was doing him a favor. I replaced a door, and I replastered the basement walls. However, I did this thinking that I would live here indefinitely. Do I have any recourse to get my money back now? Also, he approved me to replace the roof at my expense. Can I now get that money back?
Last edited by meg777 on Fri May 30, 2008 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
meg777

Let me get this straight

Postby dealing3000 » Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:05 pm