TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Lease renewal

Rights for non-regulated tenants

Moderator: TenantNet

Lease renewal

Postby HonestTenant1 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:19 pm

I have been renting my apartment for the last 8 years and have often been late on my rent. Sometime up to 3 months but have always made good on payments as well as any legal fees or additional charges. As a consultant and independent contractor I receive my fees in large installments sometimes 5 times a year and therefore usually my payments are behind. In February of 2012 my lease expired and my landlord is not willing to renew due to my rent history, even though I was told months before that I would be given a new lease if I was fully paid up to date. On March 14th I was sent a letter from the management office asking me to kindly vacate the premises by April 30, 2012, giving me more than 30 days notice. I am currently 3 months behind in the rent but offered to pay in full if the landlord agreed to renew. I was told that they wouldn't discuss unless I paid first - I told them that I would like to pay even several months in advance as well to assure that they would in fact renew. I was again declined a renewal. I recently received a NOTICE OF PETITION (Holdover-Residential) against me requesting I appear in CIVIL COURT OF NEW YORK CITY on May 2nd for final judgement of eviction asking for all outstanding rent. I am willing to pay everything I owe but only if I am granted a new lease. What rights do I have? Can I plead to the judge if I agree to pay in full on date of court? I'm willing to offer more months up front or increase my security. How long after the court date do I legal have to vacate if the ruling is not in my favor even if I agree to pay?
HonestTenant1

Postby TenantNet » Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:41 pm