TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

I am a Sublet - My roommate not paying rent

Public Housing (NYCHA), SRO, HUD, HPD, Mitchell Lama, Lofts, Coop/Condo

Moderator: TenantNet

I am a Sublet - My roommate not paying rent

Postby aiwil734 » Sat May 18, 2013 1:27 am

I've been subletting a room in NYC for over 6 months now. I haven't signed any paper work for being here, but I make my monthly payments in checks so I have proof of all payments. The roommate I've been paying rent to decided not to pay rent to the management company for 5 months. I found a bill in the apartment for over $9,000. The roommate claims they tried to make a partial payment but got into an argument with the management company and said they would only accept payments in full, not partial. They are on the lease so it confuses me they would do this to themselves, however, their old roommate is somehow still on the lease, who's name is also on this most recent bill for $9,000. Their parents supposedly are very well off and are probably the guarantors or cosigners for this apartment. I don't know for sure I'm just trying to put two and two together. My roommate that is on the lease who I've been paying rent to, has never come to me on the first of any month for rent, didn't seem to care if I was late or how late I was, and had court in mid April for the money they owe. That was when they told me we had 45 days to pay the rest, even though I had been making my monthly payments mostly on time (they were very oddly lenient). All my portion is paid, but they told my friend who sublets my room with me that the management company was trying to kick us out for June 1. My question is, do I owe them for May rent (it's now halfway through May and I still haven't paid because I'm very sketched out), do I need to be out on June 1, and if we had a 30-day eviction notice for June 1 would I owe June rent? What can I do in this situation? Please help.
aiwil734