TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Rent Stabilization & Preferential Information Validation

NYC Rent Regulation: Rent Control/Rent Stabilized, DHCR Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Rent Stabilization & Preferential Information Validation

Postby pnpboi » Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:57 pm

Hi TenantNet Forums, sorry ahead of time, i'm not good at writing. Im posting today to get validation on the information i've gathered from these forums and numerous sites on the internet regarding rent stabilization and preferential rent.

From everything I read on this forum and internet I firmly believe I am living in a rent stabilized apartment. My landlord claims I am not and has mentioned twice that I do not have a rent stabilized apartment. Once when I signed my lease to move in. The second time was last week when my lease renewal letter came in. It stated in bold letters, "THIS APARTMENT IS NOT SUBJECT TO RENT STABILIZATION".

Details about my lease/building and why I believe it's a rent stabilized apartment

- Lease started on Dec 15th 2018 for an all utilities included apartment with a preferential rent of $1600, the legal amount is $2400.

- Ground floor apartment that included utilities, all other apartments on the higher floors pay for their own utilities.

- When I signed my lease in 2018, it came with a "Lease rider for rent stabilized tenants", as well as another lease rider that outlined the legal rent and preferential rent.

- I have requested and received my apartments rent history from the DHCR's Office of Rent Administration and my apartment is coded RS under apartment status (Rent Stabilized)

- Built In The 1930's and has over 115 units

- Has never reached $2,774.76 to become deregulated prior to the new rent laws.

- Does not seem to be receiving J-51 or 421a tax abatement