TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Complaint About Judge

NYC Housing Court Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Complaint About Judge

Postby Imp » Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:30 pm

If you have a complaint about a particular Housing Court Judge, do you make the complaint to the Judge who appointed the Judge? What is the process?
I'm not a lawyer, but I will be someday, dammit!
Imp

Postby Aubergine » Sun Aug 13, 2006 2:57 pm

A complaint about misconduct or inappropriate speech or conduct by a HC judge (not including erroneous legal rulings or decisions, which must be resolved through the appeals process) should be sent to the Housing Court Supervising/Administrative Judge for the county and the Administrative Judge of the Civil Court: http://nycourts.gov/courts/nyc/housing/ ... tion.shtml

and also to one or both of the tenant representatives on the Housing Court Advisory Council: http://nycourts.gov/courts/nyc/housing/advisory.shtml

Louise V. Seeley, Esq.
Executive Director, CityWide Task Force on Housing Court

Ashwani Prabhakar, Esq.
The Legal Aid Society, Civil Appeals and Law Reform Unit.
Aubergine

CWTF

Postby Anna » Sun Aug 13, 2006 4:41 pm

Also: contact CWTFHC: the City-Wide Task Force on Housing Court, Inc. is a non-profit coalition that was established in 1981 to address the systemic challenges to justice in New York City's Housing Court.

Click on one of this link then pagedown to download a form that you can submit to the task force to complain about a judge or other court personnel:
http://www.tenant.net/Court/cwtfhc/index.html
Anna

Postby Landlord's Boy » Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:27 am

What am I supposed to do when it isn't an issue of judicial misconduct, but stupidity? I had a case recently when the judge added up a column of numbers incorrectly to determine the amount a delinquent tenant owed me. My attorney didn't catch it at the time, the error is $200. He says it isn't worth pursuing.