TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Faithfully paying rent, but now want to sue. Plausible?

NYC Housing Court Practice/Procedures

Moderator: TenantNet

Faithfully paying rent, but now want to sue. Plausible?

Postby j. benton » Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:18 pm

I am a college student, and because of that, I have been paying rent (since October, month-to-month) on a ROOM in an apartment inside of a house. The house has two apartments and a studio in it. There are three other people living in the apartment I reside in, each of which have a separate lease.

I have had several problems since moving here, including disputes with the landlord regarding heat, electricity (the fuse kept blowing out) and, most disgustingly, rodents. She never fixed the latter problem. She claims she called an exterminator, who gassed the basement, but the handyman says the exterminator gassed for BUGS, and that even if he had treated the apartment for mice, it would have been proper for him to have treated all three floors since, otherwise, the mice would have simply traveled upward, to my apartment.

Additionally, I have had to call the police on two occasions because of aggravated harassment against me, courtesy of one of my roommates and her girlfriend. In one case, the roommate's girlfriend physically assaulted me, and in another, she and my roommate broke down the door to my room. When I spoke to the landlady about this, she became angry that I called the police, and has taken no steps to ensure my safety. Most appallingly, she recently asked me to leave, saying that 'I don't get along,' with the other roommates, and she has been getting complaints from them and the neighbors about my calling the police. I believe that calling the police was the only proper thing to do in my situation, and that her asking me to leave is retaliatory.