TenantNet Forum

Where tenants can seek help and help others

Fireproof with wooden beams?

Relating to Department of Buildings, Development and Zoning

Moderator: TenantNet

Fireproof with wooden beams?

Postby Brasky » Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:31 am

There used to be a "fireproof" designation for buildings. I live in one of these fireproof buildings, and I noticed a wooden beam inside a wall, going through a hole in the concrete near the ceiling. I assume there's a horizontal beam between floors that this wooden beam is holding up. Anyone know if that was allowed in a fireproof building? I have another photo of the building when it was being built and all I could see is steel, but there's apparently some wood too. Is/was this allowed?

[img]http://imageshack.us/a/img822/4268/woodenbeaminfireproofbu.jpg[/img]
Brasky

Postby TenantNet » Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:11 am

To start, I can't figure out what this is a photo of?

As for fireproof designations, well, I'm not an expert on the subject, but you might try your nearest fire station. They might know.

I will tell you that anything will burn, melt or vaporize given enough time and heat. That includes concrete and steel. I suspect that "fireproof" means the supporting materials will hold up for a period of time. The designation might refer to concrete or brick construction, or that there are satisfactory firewalls between units. Or it might refer to sufficient "fireproofing" applied to the building material. That used to be asbestos, now it's other materials. If you dig into some building, you will see what appears to foam sprayed on steel beams.

Here's a link that could be start for further research:
http://law.onecle.com/new-york/labor/LAB0264_264.html

Just a few years ago there were many articles on why the fireproofing didn't work at the World Trade Center.

I suspect it's also a designation used for insurance company purposes.
The Tenant Network(tm) for Residential Tenants