Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Three day-notice and LL harassment. Pros: PLEASE HELP ME

Posted by John Q on February 19, 1999 at 03:06:14:

I am a tenant for 30 years in my apartment. My recent landlord has been doing all he can to remove me or cause me to leave my rent controlled apartment for five(5) years- since he bought the place.

On the advice of a pro-se attorney at civil court building, I have been withholding my rent since late 1997(After my LL withdrew his DHCR eviction petition against me at day two of the hearing). I was advised to wait till the LL sued me and then counter-sue. The LL did not follow the script and did not ask me for the rent.

This past December, we met(at my request) to discuss an end to our stand-off. I asked for the meeting because I have been recovering from major surgery and needed desperatly to relax and heal. I told him that if he would remedy the most outstanding problems and stop harrasing me I would pay the rent plus some (not all) of the past rent, just so I could relax and heal. LL said he would consider it. Note: these repairs were for "restoration" of services LL decreased- my previous HP action(succesful) inspector said he could not include them in his request for "repairs".