Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: Lease Contract? Tennessee & other states

Posted by Anna on June 26, 1999 at 23:47:46:

In Reply to: Re: Lease Contract?Whoa $295 amonth posted by John Beeler on June 26, 1999 at 16:56:32:

: The going rate for a one bedroom here is roughly $250. I guess it doesn't sound like much to you but $295 is just a little under three months of groceries at Walmart for us.

: john

Don't pay richard any mind: his handle says it all: LoudRich. He's posted a lot about moving to NYC, renting his first apt here at $1200, and sueing his landlord to get the rent reduced to $100, what he thinks the last rent controlled/stabilized rent was...

About your situation: if you never signed a paper, you had an oral lease. Usually, you would still need to give the landlord 30 days notice to leave, but it varies. Suggest you contact the off-campus housing office at your (or your wife's) college: they should be able to help with the local laws & local resources for help.

Here's a link to a NH landlord (!) website with copies of L&T (security deposit, eviction, etc) laws from almost every state, and some local orgs. You might find TN's laws on your state assembly or state senate website. Try:

The all-state NH site, click on Other States Laws, Tennessee is there:

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name