Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

30 day notice AND penalty!?

Posted by William Gene Cole on August 02, 1996 at 19:34:55:

There was a clause in my apartment lease which stated the following:

17. RENEWAL: This lease will continue as a month-to-month lease after
initial term at a 5% increased rate until either you or we give the other
at least thirty days written notice of termination. Termination must be
the last day of the initial term or the last day of a subsequent calendar month.
We encourage you to stop by the office at least 30 days before the last
date of this lease to review your renewal options.

I think this clause provides for, in the event of holdover tenant, a tenancy
at will OR (note the part, "either you or we give the other written notice...")
a tenancy at sufferance, and the rate. My former landlord says that it is a
mandate that tenants give them a thirty day notice of intent to vacate and
a penalty equal to one months rent for failure to do so.

Who's right? Me or them, or is there another meaning?

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name