Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: landlord threatens no friends over...break lease?

Posted by Stacy on September 28, 2001 at 15:11:57:

In Reply to: landlord threatens no friends over...break lease? posted by jenny on September 28, 2001 at 10:37:17:

Hi Jenny. I'm not an expert at this, but I'll take a stab at answering your questions. First off, unless there's a line in the lease limiting the number of people you can have over, your landlord is out of line. He can't impose arbitrary limits. Your right to sublet depends on what's in your lease. In terms of breaking your lease, that depends on what your landlord is willing to do: it's possible he'd agree to an early termination, especially if you had someone lined up to take it over. Otherwise, you might have a decent legal case for breaking it, but that would involve hiring a lawyer.

If you do stick it out through may and are worried about getting your deposit back, don't pay your last month's rent (assuming your deposit = 1 month's rent). Give your landlord whatever notice your lease requires that you don't intent to renew, then tell him you plan to use your deposit as your last month's rent. It's not strictly legal, but it's a very common tenant defense tactic, and it puts the legal burden on him: If he wants $ to cover damages, he'd have to take you to court to get it *and* produce reciepts documenting the amount. Assuming there aren't damages, he's highly unlikely to try that, and you'll save yourself the hell of trying to pry loose your deposit.

Good luck.

: hi,