Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Please help

Posted by Jeremy on February 08, 2001 at 15:51:12:

She never provided a manual for how to operate the garbage diposal...This is my first time renting and i had no clue becuase at my home we never had a garbae disposal... so i have no clue what to throw in or not to throw in so is that still my fault......thanks for the help......

: Jeremy,

: Small world... I am a landlord in Lafayette, IN myself (although not yours). Yep it is legal, but according to the wording of your lease you or someone you let into your apartment had to have done the damage. What caused the garbage disposal to break? My guess is that the repair man found something inappropriate thrown down the disposal (like a bone, plum pit, spoon, etc.). If the disposal broke due to that or because it was run without the water running, that would fall under the clause in your lease and it would be your responsibility. If the disposal just broke due to age, then it should be paid for by your landlord. I would simply call them and ask them about the cause of the broken disposal. That should clear things up.

: Good luck!

: -Kris Ames