Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: 1st, last and deposit

Posted by Kris on January 23, 2001 at 14:32:41:

In Reply to: 1st, last and deposit posted by Jeremy on January 23, 2001 at 13:24:07:


Although I am not a landlord in CA, I did find a CA legal site. Do understand I am not a lawyer and in no way certify this information as accurate.

Looking at this, it would seem that CA is one of those places that consideres "last month's rent" another form of deposit. In most cases (unless the unit qualifies as "refurbished"), the maximum deposit a landlord can charge in CA is two month's rent, unless you have a water bed or the lease is for more than 6 months. If the lease is for 6 months or longer, the landlord can charge up to 6 month's rent as a deposit. So if your monthly rent is $400 or more a month, than it appears to be legal regardless. First month's rent does not count as deposit.

I hope this helps!

: Ok, I live in sacramento, CA. I have a potential landlord who wants first, last and an $800 dollar depost. Is this legal?? Thank you.

Follow Ups:

Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name