Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index

Re: Unfair rent collection

Posted by sarduci on December 26, 2000 at 14:46:38:

In Reply to: Unfair rent collection posted by Ruby on December 26, 2000 at 13:05:17:

I am not an attorney and have not had any lanlord tenant disputes or delt with attorneys in about 3 years. In addition to not being an attorney, I am completely unfamiliar with any recent NYC rent laws or case dispositions.

1. decide if $900.00 is worth your time. decision may be based on some moral principle, but I'd pay it whether I thought they were entitled to it or not. $900.00 ain't worth it.

2. If you do pay the $900.00, you agree to pay it directly to landlord (no collection agent) and only after you and landlord sign a document closing the matter and any other future actions he may dream up against you (if you can leave yourself out of this release of future actions against landlord DO THAT although I'm sure he'll want you and future actions against him included. You want a bill of paticulars. You want a legaly served copy of the original petition. You want it acknowledged that you were never served with petetion prior to that date. And you want a stipulation (the signed document I mentioned above) stating that the case has been dropped and resolved by both parties. If it's any consolation, that should run him about $900.00 in legal fees, especially if his low life landlord attorney has to be present at the signing and negotiation of that stip. Bring a witness. Don't answer any unrelated questions. Don't chit chat. These people are not your friends. And don't let them intimidate you. Make sure there will be no judgement reflected on your credit reports, and make sure that it is the landlords responsibility to make sure it is not reflected. EVERYTHING IN WRITING.