Google Search

TenantNet Forum Archives 1996-2002
Posting and Replies are disabled in all Archives
TenantNet Forum | TenantNet Forum Archives Index


Re: questions on rights after landlord death

Posted by Jack on December 05, 2000 at 12:34:01:

In Reply to: questions on rights after landlord death posted by Keely on November 30, 2000 at 12:44:10:

He has given the "unofficial managers" of the place 5 days to get out of the house.. even though the soon to be new owner said they could remain till January. Can he do this?

NO NO NO

If tenants have lived in the same unit in New York state for 30 days or more, with or without a written lease, the landlord must give them 30 days notice (written?: look it up yourself: search for notice or 30-day on this page and/or homepage). If the tenants don't leave, the landlord has to take them to court to get them out.


Follow Ups:



Note: Posting is disabled in all archives
Post a Followup

Name    : 
E-Mail  : 
Subject : 
Comments: Optional Link URL: Link Title: Optional Image URL:


   

TenantNet Home | TenantNet Forum | New York Tenant Information | Contact Us
DHCR Information | DHCR Decisions | Housing Court Decisions | New York Rent Laws |

Subscribe to our Mailing List!
Your Email      Full Name